Saskatchewan Liberals to Elect New Leader on May 5, 2018

REGINA – The Saskatchewan Liberal Party has officially launched the process to select a new permanent party leader.

The leader will be chosen at a Leadership Convention on May 5, 2018 by a direct vote of party members. Voting will be conducted by a majority vote, ranked ballot.

“Our party is on a strong path to renewal, and we look forward to providing all Liberal supporters in Saskatchewan an exciting opportunity to take part in this process and to have a meaningful debate to define the party ahead of the next election,” said Darrin Lamoureux, former party leader and current chair of the party’s leadership committee.

The deadline for leadership candidate nominations is March 19, 2018 at 5:00pm. Leadership nominations must be accompanied by 150 member signatures and a $1500 donation to the party.

There is no cost to sign up as a Saskatchewan Liberal member. All members in good standing as of April 3, 2018 at 12:00pm will be able to vote in the leadership.

“This will be an opportunity to bring new voices and new ideas to politics in Saskatchewan, something that we have seen very little of from the leadership races of the other two main parties,” concluded Lamoureux.